skip to main content

City of Fairfax Elects 2014-2016 School Board

The City of Fairfax elected a new school board on Tuesday, May 6th. Incumbents Jon Buttram, Carolyn Pitches, Toby Sorensen and Mitch Sutterfield were all reelected and Robert Reinsel joins the school board for the first time. School Board Chairman Janice Miller is resigning from the board in July and was elected to the city council.

In 1961, a School Services Agreement (SSA) was entered with the City of Fairfax Schools and Fairfax County Public Schools (FCPS). Under this agreement, FCPS manages and operates city schools, hires staff and develops curriculum, while the City School Board works closely with FCPS and is responsible for the management of the contract and the four city-owned school buildings.

The 2014-2016 City of Fairfax School Board will kick off their tenure early, with an all-day retreat in June to prioritize goals and work ahead. The School Board will continue to work on projects within the schools such as Bring Your Own Device and expanding technology use within the schools and capital improvements within the schools. Newly elected Reinsel is ready for the challenge.

“I am grateful to the citizens of the City of Fairfax for entrusting me with this important role,” said Reinsel. “Our schools are one of the key hubs around which our community turns and, they truly make the City a desirable place to live. I look forward to joining my new colleagues and Superintendent Noonan in working to keep our city schools strong.”

The City of Fairfax Schools strives to make our website accessible to all. If you are having difficulties, please call our office at 703-385-7911 or send an email to

© 2018 City of Fairfax Schools