skip to main content

Our Schools

When the City of Fairfax incorporated into city status in 1961, it entered into a School Services Agreement with Fairfax County Public Schools (FCPS). Under this agreement, FCPS manages and operates city schools, hires staff and develops curriculum, while the City School Board is responsible for the management of the contract and the four city-owned school buildings.

The City of Fairfax consists of four schools – Fairfax High School, Lanier Middle School, Providence Elementary School and Daniels Run Elementary School in addition to our ‘school within a school’, the Fairfax Academy for Communication and the Arts. Our schools consistently rank high within the county and state in academic, athletic and cultural arts.

The City of Fairfax Schools strives to make our website accessible to all. If you are having difficulties, please call our office at 703-385-7911 or send an email to

© 2018 City of Fairfax Schools